I think there used to be a few methods to doing it, but as far as I'm aware now the lock method is the only way to get them removed from your account. It sucks, and can be risky if you bought the account from somebody else so be careful.
That was the old way to do it but since then, that option has been removed along with a few additions to the system. What you did was appeal in the option "My Password Was Stolen." The majority of the time a bot answers your appeals.