Let me explain this. You have active recoveries on your account.
You CANNOT delete them
You CAN change them
It takes 7-14 days (from memory) to change them
During this time you CAN DELETE these new recoveries that you are attempting to set
The option to delete or cancel is referring to new recoveries that you might have set, you cannot delete your old/current ones