Werewolves
Member
- Joined
- Dec 20, 2014
- Sythe Gold
- 10
- Messages
- 31
Let's say you buy an account of a person who used to be very social, with hundreds of friends and the like, all of whom still have that account added on their friends lists. The seller obviously didn't tell them he'd sold his account, so when these people see you log in, they still think it's the seller logging in, and they talk to you/try to play with you as if you're the seller. For one thing, this could be a significant problem toward your enjoyment of the game, and for another, it could potentially be a security risk if a significant number of them deduce it's been traded and report it.
As such, how do you go about clearing the "player identity" of an account? Making the seller's friends forget about it, so you can play normally without other people thinking you're the previous player?
Changing the display name can of course be a good first step, but that has its own problems--they'll still see it on their friends list as having formerly been known as the old name, and more importantly, some accounts are traded entirely because of their display names, if it's a rare name or whatever, such that changing the display name would completely ruin the value of the account.
So how is this usually done?
As such, how do you go about clearing the "player identity" of an account? Making the seller's friends forget about it, so you can play normally without other people thinking you're the previous player?
Changing the display name can of course be a good first step, but that has its own problems--they'll still see it on their friends list as having formerly been known as the old name, and more importantly, some accounts are traded entirely because of their display names, if it's a rare name or whatever, such that changing the display name would completely ruin the value of the account.
So how is this usually done?



