Influenza
Apprentice
In this Tutorial, I will be teaching you how to make glass orbs.I will be making a series of tuts for GFX purposes.
1. First, open up your Photoshop CS3/CS4 Program, and make your dimensions 200x200 being the height and width.(We will be adjusting later for avatars.
2. Now fill your canvas fully black.
3. Now go to Filter>Render>Lens Flare. And click 105mm then hit OK.
Your image should now look a little something like this
4. Now, go to Filter>Distort>Polar Coordinates. Then click Polar to rectangular
5. This step, depends on your version of Photoshop with CS3 go to> Image>Rotate Canvas, and with Photoshop CS4, go to Image> Image Rotation
Then click "Flip Canvas vertical"
6. Then again go to Filter>Distort>Polar Coordinates but this time, Rectangular to Polar.
Your picture should look like this-
7. Now use the Elliptical Marquee Tool
8. Use the Elliptical Marque Tool starting around the top left hand corner, and go diagonally to the bottom right corner.
Your picture should look like this
times to make sure, you've copied.
9. Go to file, and hit "New" Use the dimensions 200x200 AGAIN.
10. Now hit Control+V so you get this:
11. Now for final touches.
You hit CNTRL+B to bring up color balance.
You can now mess around with the colors to blend with to make your orb.
after messing around with colors, you can crop it, add text, do whatever.
Here's one of my test orbs.
12. After you're finished, go to Image>Image Size.. and adjust your size to 80x80 pixels.
Well Done! You've made your very own glass orb.
Post your results here, and good luck in all of your GFX adventures.





