According to Rune Wiki, once a user has chosen a new Display Name, his or her old one will be held for an amount of time. The name will be held for the 28 days in which the user may not change his or her name, and then for at least 7 more days, depending on the time the original name was held. This is so that he or she may revert to his or her old name if he or she wishes. Once these days have passed, the old Display Name will no longer be on hold and can be taken by others.

