If you try changing the e-mail, it'll send an unsubscribe code to the e-mail currently registered. In that e-mail has an abortion code and an unsubscribe code. If they don't use the abortion code the e-mail will automatically change in 14 days.
OT: Original owner can always recover with first password / creation if sent from creation IP.