system restore

Discussion in 'Archives' started by the emogod, Jun 3, 2007.

system restore
  1. Unread #1 - Jun 3, 2007 at 10:07 PM
  2. the emogod
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Posts:
    318
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    the emogod Forum Addict

    system restore

    Ok well im going to do a system restore on my computer and i need to know if it will delete the .exe files in a folder on my desktop.
    For example, i downloaded an autoer off a website and it gave me a .rar file. I extracted the .exe from the .rar and put it in my folder. Now when i do a system restore will i still have this .exe file on my desktop?

    If not can i just put the whole folder on a blank cd? then put it on my desktop after i do a system restore?

    THANKS! (ps yeah i know im a noob)
     
  3. Unread #2 - Jun 4, 2007 at 8:56 AM
  4. Blupig
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Posts:
    7,145
    Referrals:
    16
    Sythe Gold:
    1,609
    Discord Unique ID:
    178533992981594112
    Valentine's Singing Competition Winner Member of the Month Winner MushyMuncher Gohan has AIDS Extreme Homosex World War 3 I'm LAAAAAAAME
    Off Topic Participant

    Blupig BEEF TOILET
    $5 USD Donor

    system restore

    No, not a noob. I believe there is an option to format or just replace windows, if this is what I think what your talking about...
     
  5. Unread #3 - Jun 8, 2007 at 10:56 PM
  6. whatthephil1
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Posts:
    62
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    whatthephil1 Member
    Banned

    system restore

    yes a system restore will delete everything and make it as when you first got it. If you need those files save them to a CD Floppy or somthing.
     
  7. Unread #4 - Jun 9, 2007 at 12:43 AM
  8. Jâm€s
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Posts:
    98
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    Jâm€s Member
    Banned

    system restore

    No, depending how far you went back, it'll restore it until then, I think all my text documents, such as Wordpad, were gone because I must of downloaded half the file (I don't see how that'll work), but yes it will delete everything you didn't download, unless you make a restore point what you're on now, then if it deletes everything you can restore it to the future? (How does it work), wait won't that reverse the future if that happened?
     
  9. Unread #5 - Jun 9, 2007 at 7:55 AM
  10. WoW Sucks
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    3,708
    Referrals:
    3
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    WoW Sucks Global Moderator
    Banned

    system restore

    Basically everything you installed will be un-installed. All saved files will remain there.

    Its only meant to be used if you fucked up your sound card or something. Not if you have a virus, trojan or keylogger.
     
  11. Unread #6 - Jun 10, 2007 at 6:23 PM
  12. lilfuzzyrat
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    140
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    lilfuzzyrat Active Member

    system restore

    Wait, is he talking about "sytem restore" in the start menu or reinstalling windows after formatting the hard disk?
     
  13. Unread #7 - Jun 13, 2007 at 10:06 PM
  14. escolade213
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    347
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    escolade213 Forum Addict

    system restore

    The system restore, and if hes wondering if the files he downloaded will be deleted.
     
  15. Unread #8 - Jun 14, 2007 at 5:01 AM
  16. Choppa
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    431
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    Choppa Forum Addict

    system restore

    It's probably better to check that out with Windows Help or on the microsoft page or something because it tells you to save all documents and stuff so it might keep some things, actually it might just change all the settings back to what they were (incase you fucked around with the settings trying to make your computer go faster (like I used to do...)).
     
  17. Unread #9 - Jun 14, 2007 at 9:05 AM
  18. Sparq
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    Sparq Active Member

    system restore

    NO! system restore will not delete anything nor will it modify any of your files. It will only roll back the settings to the time that you choose. So No it will not delete or modify any files that you have created whatsoever. Only the systen files that contains settings will me modified. Do you know how much disk space it would take to log all files created etc etc?
     
  19. Unread #10 - Jun 14, 2007 at 9:57 AM
  20. Atomic
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    1,870
    Referrals:
    4
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    Atomic Guru
    Banned

    system restore

    Sparq has it right, or at least on Vista anyway. It only changes the settings and recently installed updates/registry changes etc. It should not effect those files.
     
< selling lvl 96 main | Selling America's army ACCOUNT AND TRACKER >

Users viewing this thread
1 guest


 
 
Adblock breaks this site