Ok well im going to do a system restore on my computer and i need to know if it will delete the .exe files in a folder on my desktop. For example, i downloaded an autoer off a website and it gave me a .rar file. I extracted the .exe from the .rar and put it in my folder. Now when i do a system restore will i still have this .exe file on my desktop? If not can i just put the whole folder on a blank cd? then put it on my desktop after i do a system restore? THANKS! (ps yeah i know im a noob)
No, not a noob. I believe there is an option to format or just replace windows, if this is what I think what your talking about...
yes a system restore will delete everything and make it as when you first got it. If you need those files save them to a CD Floppy or somthing.
No, depending how far you went back, it'll restore it until then, I think all my text documents, such as Wordpad, were gone because I must of downloaded half the file (I don't see how that'll work), but yes it will delete everything you didn't download, unless you make a restore point what you're on now, then if it deletes everything you can restore it to the future? (How does it work), wait won't that reverse the future if that happened?
Basically everything you installed will be un-installed. All saved files will remain there. Its only meant to be used if you fucked up your sound card or something. Not if you have a virus, trojan or keylogger.
Wait, is he talking about "sytem restore" in the start menu or reinstalling windows after formatting the hard disk?
It's probably better to check that out with Windows Help or on the microsoft page or something because it tells you to save all documents and stuff so it might keep some things, actually it might just change all the settings back to what they were (incase you fucked around with the settings trying to make your computer go faster (like I used to do...)).
NO! system restore will not delete anything nor will it modify any of your files. It will only roll back the settings to the time that you choose. So No it will not delete or modify any files that you have created whatsoever. Only the systen files that contains settings will me modified. Do you know how much disk space it would take to log all files created etc etc?
Sparq has it right, or at least on Vista anyway. It only changes the settings and recently installed updates/registry changes etc. It should not effect those files.