I'm pretty sure this is easy but I dunno how (Opening to bottom of page)

Discussion in 'Web Programming' started by 0h n035, Jul 11, 2007.

I'm pretty sure this is easy but I dunno how (Opening to bottom of page)
  1. Unread #1 - Jul 11, 2007 at 8:50 PM
  2. 0h n035
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Posts:
    163
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    0h n035 Active Member

    I'm pretty sure this is easy but I dunno how (Opening to bottom of page)

    Hello.

    I'm making a RuneScape Webclient but I'd like to know a few small things.

    The main thing is opening links to the bottom of the page. I mean this: Say I click world 108 (non-members). I want it to automatically open it at the bottom of the page, so the ad up the top isn't visible. Or at least a script where you click a link and it automatically scrolls it down.

    RuneScape opens up in a frame called 'main' on my site so if you could make it work with Iframes, that'd be great.

    Also, MellowYellow gave me a HiScore Lookup Script but I dunno how to use it (I suck at HTML, etc). If someone could rip me the HiScore Lookup Source code off of SwiftSwitch (Will have to be the old version because I want it to go from left to right) or something.

    Last but not least, I need a tabular navigation thing. I've found some on all those websites but they don't seem to work with my Chatroom. This is what I want: Nothing is in this space at first. To the right is 2 links. Chat and Notepad. When you click Chat, it opens my chatroom in that space. When you click notepad it HIDES the chatroom and displays notepad. When you click Chat it HIDES notepad and shows Chat, so it doesn't have to reload it again and you wont have to log back into chat.

    Can anyone help with this?
     
  3. Unread #2 - Jul 11, 2007 at 11:01 PM
  4. MellowYellow
    Referrals:
    0

    MellowYellow Guest

    I'm pretty sure this is easy but I dunno how (Opening to bottom of page)

    A very simple tabular system would be to overlay DIVs and just change the zindex with javascript. I can help you on my highscore script.

    I do not think, however, that the scrollBy and scrollTo methods work on frames so it may or may not be possible to scroll the frame like you want.
     
  5. Unread #3 - Jul 12, 2007 at 12:43 AM
  6. 0h n035
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Posts:
    163
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    0h n035 Active Member

    I'm pretty sure this is easy but I dunno how (Opening to bottom of page)

    Then how does Covey do it with EliteSwitch? Also how do you do that tab thing?
     
  7. Unread #4 - Jul 19, 2007 at 2:05 AM
  8. dberg20
    Referrals:
    0

    dberg20 Guest

    I'm pretty sure this is easy but I dunno how (Opening to bottom of page)

    Don't try to compare VB with client side. lol

    For the scrolling thing like on elite where you press the arrows, you could just set a function with javascript:scroll(x, x), and just have it increase by say 130 each time.
     
  9. Unread #5 - Jul 22, 2007 at 12:41 AM
  10. Jazz00006
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    807
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    Jazz00006 Apprentice
    Visual Basic Programmers

    I'm pretty sure this is easy but I dunno how (Opening to bottom of page)

  11. Unread #6 - Jul 22, 2007 at 2:02 AM
  12. MellowYellow
    Referrals:
    0

    MellowYellow Guest

    I'm pretty sure this is easy but I dunno how (Opening to bottom of page)

    Excuse me for being HTML ignorant but how are anchors going to allow him to scroll a frame? He wants an iframe that has loaded the RuneScape website to scroll to the bottom of the page, not his parent document.
     
  13. Unread #7 - Jul 22, 2007 at 2:24 AM
  14. 0h n035
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Posts:
    163
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    0h n035 Active Member

    I'm pretty sure this is easy but I dunno how (Opening to bottom of page)

    If you go to http://www.ryanslair.com/load You'll see what I'm up to.

    I've got Non-Members worlds auto-scrolling past the ad when it loads up but it stuffs up on members worlds. Is there any way to stop the Javascript if you click on a members world?

    If you need any source codes, let me know.
     
  15. Unread #8 - Jul 22, 2007 at 1:20 PM
  16. TehDan
    Referrals:
    0

    TehDan Guest

    I'm pretty sure this is easy but I dunno how (Opening to bottom of page)

  17. Unread #9 - Jul 27, 2007 at 4:59 AM
  18. 0h n035
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Posts:
    163
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    0h n035 Active Member

    I'm pretty sure this is easy but I dunno how (Opening to bottom of page)

    Okay...

    I have decided to make an iframe for EVERY SINGLE WORLD.

    To bad if there is an easier way cos' I've already started and it works great.

    All I need is a HighScore Lookup.

    I looked at the one in this forum here (RS Stat Grabber) but I can't change the table to what I want it to look like.
     
  19. Unread #10 - Aug 12, 2007 at 2:59 PM
  20. cp
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Posts:
    3,278
    Referrals:
    6
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    cp an cat
    Banned

    I'm pretty sure this is easy but I dunno how (Opening to bottom of page)

    Well, if it's a page you own, then add this to the <head></head> section:
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    scroll(999999,99999)
    </script>
    
    That should scroll to the bottom of most pages since 999999 is a lot.

    More about it at http://www.mediacollege.com/internet/javascript/page/scroll.html .

    (Google it next time)
     
  21. Unread #11 - Aug 12, 2007 at 10:58 PM
  22. Zyloch
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    63
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    Zyloch Member

    I'm pretty sure this is easy but I dunno how (Opening to bottom of page)

    cp_ hit the nail on the head. If you are going to be using a server-side or application programming language to parse the Jagex webpage before displaying it, you can add anything to the page, including Javascript scrolling, and more appropriately, anchors to the bottom.

    Otherwise, there is nothing you can do if you place the Runescape website in an iframe, because JavaScript security restrictions allow you only to modify pages in your own domain

    Furthermore, I believe the Runescape website has script that breaks out of a frame when you try to constrain it to one. Your best bet is to parse the page and get rid of any Javascript or parse it for the data you want before displaying it following your own template.
     
< [ASP.NET][CLASS] ASP.NET Programming Class, Completely for Beginners! (Awesome!) | help please!!!!!!!!! >

Users viewing this thread
1 guest


 
 
Adblock breaks this site