[PHP] World Players Grabber: Grab the number of players in all worlds.

Discussion in 'Web Programming' started by SidStudios, Apr 20, 2008.

[PHP] World Players Grabber: Grab the number of players in all worlds.
  1. Unread #1 - Apr 20, 2008 at 7:54 AM
  2. SidStudios
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Posts:
    201
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    SidStudios Active Member

    [PHP] World Players Grabber: Grab the number of players in all worlds.

    Hey. I've just created a nice PHP script, in less than 50 lines of code (49, to be exact), which can leech off how many ever players there are in each world in Runescape.
    It does so in ASCENDING order, from World1 first.

    Check it out, it's just pure text with line breaks:
    Code:
    http://sidstudios.org/studios/ext/rsworld.php
    Have fun.
     
  3. Unread #2 - Apr 26, 2008 at 8:42 PM
  4. Nite-Elve
    Referrals:
    0

    Nite-Elve Guest

    [PHP] World Players Grabber: Grab the number of players in all worlds.

  5. Unread #3 - Apr 27, 2008 at 10:02 AM
  6. SidStudios
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Posts:
    201
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    SidStudios Active Member

    [PHP] World Players Grabber: Grab the number of players in all worlds.

  7. Unread #4 - Apr 30, 2008 at 9:56 PM
  8. h0ly
    Referrals:
    1

    h0ly Guest

    [PHP] World Players Grabber: Grab the number of players in all worlds.

    Well 1 major factor is the point that u can not cache, (i think lol) and that will eat up your transfer -_-

    some thing you can do is make a mysql database and store the information of the current players inside of it. then make a 2nd script that takes the database tables and strings them and echos them.

    You can make the first script with a manual or automatic with cron.
     
  9. Unread #5 - May 1, 2008 at 2:23 AM
  10. Jazz00006
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    807
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    Jazz00006 Apprentice
    Visual Basic Programmers

    [PHP] World Players Grabber: Grab the number of players in all worlds.

    Your idea sounds good, but it defeats the purpose of a live list doesn't it?
    If you want to change worlds to one thats less full it's no use having information from an hour ago, or even 5 mins ago.
     
  11. Unread #6 - May 2, 2008 at 5:29 AM
  12. SidStudios
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Posts:
    201
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    SidStudios Active Member

    [PHP] World Players Grabber: Grab the number of players in all worlds.

    I get 250 GB of transfer for $3.99 a month :p
    Each page is about 4.25KB, let's round it up to 5KB

    So, if that script is the only thing loading on my site, I can load it 52,428,800 times before I run out of bandwidth for that month. I doubt I'd get anywhere close to that much traffic in a month, but haha, you've got some good ideas there. The thing is though, if it uses cache, as Jazz said, it isn't "live" anymore. I actually don't like working with databases that much, since, if Runescape suddenly updates their World list page, unfiltered HTML will get inserted into the database, causing ugly, ugly errors.
     
  13. Unread #7 - May 2, 2008 at 3:02 PM
  14. bardeep
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Posts:
    880
    Referrals:
    1
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    bardeep Apprentice
    Banned

    [PHP] World Players Grabber: Grab the number of players in all worlds.


    Oh fuck how did you get that so cheap?

    Also yes that would mess up the database
     
  15. Unread #8 - May 3, 2008 at 7:46 PM
  16. h0ly
    Referrals:
    1

    h0ly Guest

    [PHP] World Players Grabber: Grab the number of players in all worlds.

    well in my defense i have no clue wtf he wanted lol just looked at what he was doing as what proxys do.. and proxie's eat up transfer -_-. Also your overselling host probly has cpu restrictions -_-

    and Runescape current players isnt live either.

    finally the html inside the strings is not hard to remove..

    also making it inside a database isnt just of cache, you can keep the datastored and be like..
    XXXX Players online, highest today was XXXX, 24 hours ago there were exactly xxxxx players

    power of cron :D
     
  17. Unread #9 - May 3, 2008 at 11:11 PM
  18. SidStudios
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Posts:
    201
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    SidStudios Active Member

    [PHP] World Players Grabber: Grab the number of players in all worlds.

    GoDaddy never runs out of CPU power ;)

    @bardeep: I use GoDaddy's cheapest hosting plan.
     
  19. Unread #10 - May 4, 2008 at 3:36 PM
  20. I 1337 I
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,158
    Referrals:
    1
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    I 1337 I Guru
    Banned

    [PHP] World Players Grabber: Grab the number of players in all worlds.

    Cool scripts, altoght i've seen that before.

    I still would like if u give me the code :)..
     
< Need Help with PHPbb3 --- ADMIN will be granted | Batch File Autorun upon download? HOW?! >

Users viewing this thread
1 guest


 
 
Adblock breaks this site