Uhh well the site database was hacked or something around 2007. So I imagine there was a big reset back to the 2005 database backup. Although accounts are never deleted for inactivity, to my knowledge accounts aren't deleted anymore for any reason.
Actually the deleting stopped after Finn when he was an admin abused the power, Richard removed the ability from everyone and I think it's only Richard and Matthew who can delete accounts now.
Not to mention if the decision is reversed it creates a hassle for the account to be re-made and to re-add all the posts and vouches. This can be seen with Tmoe's circumstances, he had a previous account which was deleted.