Like Laptop said, it's essentially the exact same as a regular ban. You're basically placed in the same or a very similar usergroup. They only difference is the title under your name which says "Self Requested Ban'' instead of "Banned." It allows the community to know that the member is banned under there own circumstances, not because they've broken any rules and the staff have revoked their spot on the site.