Please Read and post your opinion.

Discussion in 'RuneScape 3 General' started by 2h of str, Nov 12, 2008.

Please Read and post your opinion.
  1. Unread #1 - Nov 12, 2008 at 7:02 PM
  2. 2h of str
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    64
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    2h of str Member

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    I recently recieved this message but it seems a bit fishy. I will drop a name if anyone agrees with me.
    _________________________________________________________________
    Hi, Do you enjoy pking for profit? If not maybe you just hate listening to all the people rant on how bad the loot you receive when you kill a person. Well recently I thought of an EXECELENT way to make it both fair and Jagex for us to enjoy the loot we get after killing a person, ill give you a brief explanation of my idea;

    If we kill a person not in a hot zone we get a chance to get 25%-50% of the kill + the random drop that Jagex recently implemented into this game, but if you kill a person in a hot zone you can get up to 50%-100% of the kill making pking once again profitable!! This is just a brief example of what i talk about on my topic so please check it out. It only takes 2 seconds to log in and to post that you support my idea.

    Heres the link to my topic: http://forum.runescape.com/forums.ws?81,82,810,57750449

    Thanks for reading and please support!
    We Pay to PK!
    _________________________________________________________________


    This guy has 0 posts which makes it even fishier. The post seemed legit but could this possibly be an attempt by Mods to get people to come out with their ingame names? Just wondering what you guys think. And if this is in the wrong section please move it. There wasnt really a section for this.
     
  3. Unread #2 - Nov 12, 2008 at 7:10 PM
  4. R33l2r3al
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Posts:
    3,443
    Referrals:
    1
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    R33l2r3al Grand Master
    $5 USD Donor Retired Global Moderator

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    You should rest assured that Jagex is blocked from sythe.org. Personally, I wouldn't bother posting as it seems unlikely for jagex to do this, however you may post if you like. It is a legitimate post on the runescape forums so there is technically no way to decipher from regular users and sythe users, and thus, no way for them to tell if it is you anyways. Do what you would like, but I say with confidence that it isn't an attempt by jagex to find your account.
     
  5. Unread #3 - Nov 12, 2008 at 7:16 PM
  6. nuke4russia
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    194
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    nuke4russia Active Member
    Banned

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    Edit: Nvm, I thought it was the link from the phisher going around. Do not go to any links provided to you by steven###
    I don't know the numbers, so I replaced them with ###
     
  7. Unread #4 - Nov 12, 2008 at 7:17 PM
  8. 2h of str
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    64
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    2h of str Member

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    I agree, but I just wanted to put it out there so that anyone that answers does so at their own risk. I never answer these kind of emails...
     
  9. Unread #5 - Nov 12, 2008 at 7:25 PM
  10. 2h of str
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    64
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    2h of str Member

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    Ah, so its a phisher? And yes his name was steven####. But why would he bother sending messages that long?
     
  11. Unread #6 - Nov 12, 2008 at 7:28 PM
  12. nuke4russia
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    194
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    nuke4russia Active Member
    Banned

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    Did you receive it from a person named Steven373? If so, then yes. You also just copied the link. You didn't click the actual link he sent you. Do not click it, all he did was use the hyperlink too and linked it to his phishing site, while changed what the hyperlink is named to the forum link you posted
     
  13. Unread #7 - Nov 12, 2008 at 7:36 PM
  14. 2h of str
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    64
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    2h of str Member

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    What happens if you click it exactly?
     
  15. Unread #8 - Nov 12, 2008 at 7:37 PM
  16. nuke4russia
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    194
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    nuke4russia Active Member
    Banned

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    It will ask for your login details, then say that there is a problem with the server. Doing so, it will e-mail your details to him. I advise you to never touch that link. BTW. You weren't the only one to get it. Almost every did, it seems.
     
  17. Unread #9 - Nov 12, 2008 at 7:40 PM
  18. 2h of str
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    64
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    2h of str Member

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    I just owned him. xD He will get spammed with random usernames and passwords.
     
  19. Unread #10 - Nov 12, 2008 at 7:52 PM
  20. nuke4russia
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    194
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    nuke4russia Active Member
    Banned

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    Not a good idea. Run a virus scan and spyware scan on your computer now
     
  21. Unread #11 - Nov 12, 2008 at 8:06 PM
  22. 2h of str
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    64
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    2h of str Member

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    Doing it now. Will keep you up to date on scan reports. Is there anyway to scan the link?
     
  23. Unread #12 - Nov 12, 2008 at 8:10 PM
  24. boooooooooooooooooooooooo
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    678
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    boooooooooooooooooooooooo Apprentice
    Banned

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    Lol. You can not get a virus from it. All it does is what ever you type in the box gets sent to him. Just be sure not to DL anything.
     
  25. Unread #13 - Nov 12, 2008 at 8:20 PM
  26. nuke4russia
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    194
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    nuke4russia Active Member
    Banned

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    Not true. His site can automatically download things to your computer. Trust me, I've phished before.
     
  27. Unread #14 - Nov 12, 2008 at 8:28 PM
  28. 2h of str
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    64
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    2h of str Member

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    Scan complete and I have 0 infected files. It seems to be clean with no downloads but still not a good idea to even go to the site.
     
  29. Unread #15 - Nov 12, 2008 at 8:31 PM
  30. opuss
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    opuss Member

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    I just got that message also. And thanks for that info about the phishing web site.
     
  31. Unread #16 - Nov 12, 2008 at 9:11 PM
  32. 2h of str
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    64
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    2h of str Member

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    No problem, and I think everytime one of these comes out it should be added to some archives so that everyone knows not to respond to them. Or posted in an announcement?
     
  33. Unread #17 - Nov 13, 2008 at 1:13 AM
  34. Christmas Crackers
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,238
    Referrals:
    0
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    Christmas Crackers Grand Master
    Banned

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    I agree, there aren't that many so it would be easy to keep track.
     
  35. Unread #18 - Nov 13, 2008 at 1:21 AM
  36. I 1337 I
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,158
    Referrals:
    1
    Sythe Gold:
    0

    I 1337 I Guru
    Banned

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    I got this message to my PM box, but at that time there were a fake link.
     
  37. Unread #19 - Nov 13, 2008 at 1:32 AM
  38. Tgump
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,541
    Referrals:
    8
    Sythe Gold:
    0
    Two Factor Authentication User

    Tgump Hero
    Retired Global Moderator Zombie

    Please Read and post your opinion.

    Only if you're a lard-eating dipshit that uses IE8.
     
< Need help with range/2h | Mobile logging on RS? >

Users viewing this thread
1 guest


 
 
Adblock breaks this site